Restrictions extended for 14 days; Dark-red provinces up from 13 to 29

With lockdown measures being extended for 14 days, starting tomorrow (Aug 3), the number of provinces, classified as dark-red zones under strict enforcement of maximum COVID-19 controls, increases from 13 to 29. The measures allow stores to sell food for delivery only, while the curfew period remains unchanged. Branches of commercial banks located in department stores will remain closed, while sales and consumption of alcoholic beverages is still prohibited at this time.

A meeting of the Center for COVID-19 Situation Administration (CCSA) has decided to add 16 more provinces to the dark-red zone list. The provinces are: Kanchanaburi, Tak, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Ratchasima, Prachuap Khiri Khan, Prachin Buri, Phetchaburi, Phetchabun, Rayong, Ratchaburi, Lopburi, Sing Buri, Samut Songkhram, Saraburi, Suphan Buri and Ang Thong.
The number of provinces on the red zone list has decreased from 53 to 37. They are Kalasin, Kamphaeng Phet, Khon Kaen, Chanthaburi, Chai Nat, Chaiyaphum, Chumphon, Chiang Rai, Chiang Mai, Trang, Trat, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Nakhon Sawan, Buriram, Phatthalung, Phichit, Phitsanulok, Maha Sarakham, Yasothon, Ranong, Roi Et, Lampang, Lamphun, Loei, Si Sa Ket, Sakon Nakhon, Satun, Sa Kaeo, Sukhothai, Surin, Nong Khai, Nong Bua Lamphu, Uttaradit, Uthai Thani, Udon Thani, Ubon Ratchathani and Amnat Charoen.
The number of provinces on the orange list has been increased from 10 to 11. They include Krabi, Nakhon Panom, Nan, Bueng Kan, Phayao, Phang Nga, Phrae, Phuket, Mukdahan, Mae Hong Son and Surat Thani.
As a result, no provinces are categorized as being in the yellow or green zones.
The CCSA has adjusted measures affecting each zone. In dark-red zones, people are not allowed to leave home from 9 p.m. to 4 a.m. Interprovincial transport is prohibited, with checkpoints being set up along provincial borders.
Gatherings or activities that involve more than five people are banned. Restaurants can only sell takeaway food, and are allowed to open until 8 p.m. Sales and consumption of alcoholic beverages are still prohibited.
People can buy food and drinks in shopping malls and department stores, using takeaway services. Since they are unable to shop inside these venues, they can place orders through delivery services.
Pharmacies and supermarkets can open until 8 p.m. Beauty salons, massage parlors, beauty clinics and sports venues will remain closed.
Organizing teaching and learning activities in all educational and tutorial institutions is also prohibited. Public transport services will not be available from 9 p.m. to 4 a.m., and interprovincial travel is restricted.
In the red-zone provinces, checkpoints are to screen any travelers. Gatherings or activities involving more than 20 people are banned.
Restaurants can still provide dine-in service. They are allowed to operate until 11 p.m., but sales and consumption of alcoholic beverages inside their establishments are banned. Department stores and shopping malls can open for service during normal hours, but they are required to limit the number of people in their premises. Sales promotion activities are banned.
Beauty salons, massage parlors and beauty clinics can operate as normal. Provincial Communicable Disease Committees’ approval is needed before premises can be used to organize learning or other activities that involve many people. Sports venues and events are allowed to function until 9 p.m., for limited attendance.
In the orange-zone provinces, there are no travel restrictions, but activities involving over 50 people are now not allowed. Restaurants can provide dine-in service, but sales and consumption of alcoholic drinks inside their establishments are prohibited. Shopping malls and department stores can operate normally, but gaming zones will remain closed at this time.
Amusement parks, beauty salons, massage parlors and beauty clinics may open for service as usual. Learning activities in premises must comply with the government’s disease-control measures. Sports venues and events are allowed to open, with limited attendance.
These measures become effective on August 3rd and continue until August 18th. If the situation does not improve, they may be extended until August 31st.

Information and Source

Reporter : Praphorn Praphornkul

Rewriter : Tarin Angskul

National News Bureau & Public Relations :